Am I loyal or am I a hostage?

As I was traveling to India for our Holiday, I had a thought. Is the reason why I’m flying United for this entire trip because I am loyal to them or because I am held hostage by them?

Interesting question. Troublesome conundrum.

To be honest, I decided on United versus some of the other airlines because of my status with them. I am Global Services with them. I believe they will treat me well, as befits a top tier traveler with them. I paid more for this trip on the assumption that my continued patronage with them would result in a pleasant travel experience.

Is this an indication of loyalty or a symptom of the Stockholm Syndrome? Do I as a customer really need status to be treated well? Should I be fearful that if I am a “nobody” with the airline, I will be treated poorly? Does it really make a difference?

Yes it does.

I am allowed to carry 3 bags weighing 70 pounds each, plus 2 carry-on bags. Ordinary travelers on the other hand are allowed only 2 bags each weighing 50 pounds each.

I can board early in the process. They have to wait until their boarding group number is called.

I get upgraded. I get more legroom without paying extra. I feel special.

The airline says because I’m loyal to them.

I believe that’s because I am so used to these benefits that I am a sufferer of Stockholm Syndrome.

A hostage.

Categories: marketing

Tags: , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. I think you are a hostage of commodity. I mean, you are always free to choose someone else. You choose to go with them because of the Loyalty Program they have (which seems to work very well, don’t you think?).

Leave a Reply

